“Reggae Bounce from Jamaica to Europe” is the new mixtape mixed by Dj Pele (Young Pow Production) for Gege Vibes Magazine. Dj Pele is a popular selecter from Jamaica. He developed an early interest in music due to the vast array of Sound Systems which were booked for popular street dancers in the capital city Kingston, Sound Systems such as Killamanjaro, Stone Love, King Addies and more. These sound systems showed him from an early stage in his life what he really wanted to do : a disc jockey like no other, versatile as the best of them, one who could be a Selecta(selector) of good music and a microphone DJ as well, one that can hold the crowd maintaining their interests and energies. Moving to St. Ann he went to work for a sound system as sound engineer.

“My job was to ensure that the sound system was in order and that the boxes were ok. After continuous hard work and practice I was given the chance to play on this sound system’s turn table… I remember being so nervous that I broke the needle, which wasn’t a good start, we were still using records at that time. After this initial fail, I did a pretty good job of impressing the boss by my style of play, after that I guess I was on my way to becoming a sound system selector”, he told.

Dj Pele had spent almost 20 years developing and honing his skills as a disc jockey from the days of records, cassettes, CD’s, Virtual Dj to Serato. He got dubplates from a lot of artists : Stephen Marley, Damian Marley, Vybz Kartel, Popcaan, Sizzla, Romain Virgo and many more. He becomes known as one of the most rounded disc jockey of his generation in Jamaica being comfortable playing different genres of music, different spaces and different crowds.

“Having a diverse knowledge base of different types of music, it has allowed me to become very good at what I do : music is my passion. Being a DJ isn’t just a job to me but is a part of me, it is what makes me who I am, playing music for different people and seeing them having a great time gives me the greatest thrill, knowing that I can make them feel the way they do”, he claimed. As the great Bob Marley says “When music hits you feel no pain”. Enjoy the “Reggae Bounce from Jamaica to Europe Mixtape” with the music of Damian Marley, Chronixx, Popcaan, Tarrus Riley, Stephen Marley, Sizzla Kalonji, Christopher Ellis, iOctane, Swele, Press Kay, Assassin aka Agent Sasco and many more. Check the Dj Pele’s upcoming European Tour this summer as well powered by Gege Vibes.


Interview with Italee : “Reggae music is love. Love yourself and put yourself first” (Casalabate Music Festival 2017)


During the last edition of Casalabate Music Festival 2017 in Salento (South Italy) Gege Vibes met the historical female voice from Jamaica Italee. The reggae veteran explains us how her Jamaican origins and her culture have always been an influence in her music.

She mentions some experiences of her long carreer as the long travels from all over the World and the works in collaborations with Shaggy and Ub40. Italee also produced top artists like Sean Paul, Bounty Killer, Sizzla Kalonji, Elephant Man and many more. The black lioness tell us to keep high the reggae flag everytime and everywhere in the life. Definitely her nice music is about the power of love, the beautiful energy that everyone feels. “Love yourself and put yourself first”, she said to us at the end of the interview.

Interviewer : Eugenia Conti

Editing : Morello Selecta

Special thanks to : Italee, Rankin Lele, Mar de Plata, Casalabate Music Festival

“FOUGHT FOR DIS” / Brand new Sizzla Kalonji’s album available from 16th of June

Sizzla Kalonji has come back with a brand new album titled “Fought for dis” produced by the world famous AL.TA.FA.AN Label.

Composed of 10 tracks, this production brings together unreleased singles as well as titles already released like the big combination “Don’t Worry” with Gentlemen & Mark Wonder which already meets a great success around the world.

This album is the fruit of a real OPUS between the producer Anthony Senior and Sizzla himself. The two of them have been in associated for a decade now, which gives this album a very special touch.

This OPUS features many prestigious artists; such as the American rapper M1 Dead Prez on the song “Freedom“, Capleton and the new sensation Vershon on the title “Happy For You“, Gentlemen and Mark Wonder on the hit “Don’t Worry” whose video has been seen more than 4.6 million times.

Also noted; the collaboration of artists Nakisha on the title “Take My Breath” and Sugar Cane on the title “Jamaica“.

On the composition side, the AL.TA.FA.AN label has made use of world renowned musicians such as; the Fire House CrewLive Wyah Band and Dean Fraser to name only a few.

The mixes were made by Soljie HamiltonBarry O’HarePeter ”Crucial P ” Piessens, and Fernando Machado Cardoso.

For sure, this album will be seen as one of the major projects of the year 2017 in the career of Sizzla.

A date to remember: official release June 16, 2017!


1 – Fought for dis
2 – Freedom feat. M1 Dead Prez
3 – Love You Jah Jah
4 – Happy For You feat Capleton & Vershon
5 – Show More Love
6 – Don’t Worry feat Gentleman & Mark Wonder
7 – The Children Are The Future
8 – Take My Breath Away feat Nakeisha
9 – Much More
10 – Jamaica feat Sugar Cane